Toenails are so overrated

Running, rambling, and randomness

Sun and skin care

Up until recently, I’ve already been a pretty low no maintenance girl. No makeup, haircuts only when I couldn’t cope with my split ends anymore. That sort of thing. Now that I’m being responsible about sunscreen, my routine has gotten a bit more complicated.

I slather my face with {1} CETAPHIL UVA/UVB Defense Moisturizer (SPF 50). It’s on the thick side and smells like sunscreen, which I’m not a fan of. When I tried it as my daily moisturizer, it made me breakout, so I use it strictly when I run since it’s got high SPF. For my body, I spray on {2} Coppertone Sport High Performance Spray. I can’t stand traditional lotion-based sunscreens. I find them to be a greasy hassle. While the Coppoertone Sport Spray isn’t totally grease-free, it’s easy to apply and doesn’t feel as gunky as lotions do.

In the shower, I wash my face with {1} Aveeno Clear Complexion Foaming Cleanser. I’m prone to breakouts and this seems to keep my skin mostly clear. After I dry off, I lotion up my body with {4} Eucerin Every Day Protective Moisturizing Body Lotion (SPF 15). I’ve been using {3} Aveeno Positively Radiant Daily Moisturizer (SPF 30 Fair To Light) on my face, but find that if I don’t put another lotion on first, it doesn’t spread well. Counterintuitive, I know, but I’ve got some heavy dry patches near my scar and using {2} Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion as a primer really seems to make the tinted Aveeno spread more evenly. The Clinique was my old moisturizer, but doesn’t have any SPF, which is why it was relegated to primer (and pre-bed). I have to say that I’m loving how the tinted moisturizer evens out my skin tone but doesn’t make it feel like I’m wearing heavy makeup.

Once I’m done sporting the silicone tape over my scar, I may mix things up depending on how well the tinted moisturizer covers the scar (or doesn’t!).

6 comments on “Sun and skin care

  1. socalmark
    October 4, 2012

    Great post. I dated a girl in college who really pushed me to moisturize with some SPF every day. At the time, I did it simply because I would have done almost anything she asked. However, it became a habit, and particularly as someone who has lived in sunny Southern California since the mid 80’s, I am now really thankful. I agree with the feel/smell requirements for anything I put on my face. I’ve always liked the feel/perfromance of the Neutragena products for everyday use. For sports (skiing, running, ect.), I go with waterproof stuff and find Coppertone works best for me.

    • uglyrunnerfeet
      October 4, 2012

      Glad she did! Seems most women get SPF in their makeup, but men…not so much!

      • socalmark
        October 4, 2012

        In many way I dodged a bullet with her, as our 6 year relationship had a “Hollywood Ending.” But my skin thanks her 🙂

  2. keen4sunscreen
    October 10, 2012

    This is a really great and informative blog post! It’s exactly the type of habit everyone should get into to protect their skin. We are currently running a skin cancer awareness blog: http://keenforsunscreen.wordpress.com/

    Would you mind if we used this blog post on our site to show people some advice on daily skin care from someone who’s personally battled with skin cancer? Of course we would leave it just as you’ve written it and link readers back to your blog so they can learn from your experience. Let us know, thanks!

    – Keen For Sunscreen

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2012 by in randomness and tagged , .
