Toenails are so overrated

Running, rambling, and randomness

Bye bye Bodypump

As of September 30, my gym no longer offers Bodypump. Which means that my gym will no longer be my gym.

I joined Lifestyles Family Fitness during the winter when I realized that strength training was a must for me as part of my running. And fell in love with Bodypump. Cliche, I know, but I like structured workouts when it comes to weights. All those machines and free weights overwhelm and intimidate me. Plus, I like having an instructor to push me. Heck, if I could afford it, I’d shell out for personal training, but it’s so not in my budget.

Over the summer, LA Fitness purchased LFF. Of course, the summer was my surgery-induced workout hiatus, but I’d been hearing rumors that they were getting rid of all the Les Mills classes. The rumor became reality the classes are gone.

It’s a shame really, because the club I went to was so convenient and I got a killer corporate deal through work. I’m in the process of canceling my membership and researching other gyms in the area to see who offers Les Mills classes.

In other news, I’m trying hard not to think about my oncologist appointment on Tuesday. What will be, will be, and stressing about it can’t change it. Distracting me from my thoughts is a head cold, which has turned me into a whiney 3-year-old. Staying home from work today and spending the day in bed with tea and my DVR.

6 comments on “Bye bye Bodypump

  1. socalmark
    October 3, 2012

    Positive thoughts coming your way regarding your appointment.

  2. LizForADay
    October 3, 2012

    There is another blogger that was talking about body pump leaving their gym. Do you know why that program is going away? BTW here is a happy face for your appointment 🙂 🙂 🙂 Try not to worry too much and I hope your cold goes away. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • uglyrunnerfeet
      October 4, 2012

      I think LA fitness already has a deal with someone to do classes, but they don’t have a Bodypump type class. 😦

      Thanks for the happy thoughts 🙂

  3. Army Amy
    October 4, 2012

    I just learned that the gym where I live offers bodypump. I’ve never done it, and I don’t know anything about it, but I really want to try. I’m kinda scared – group exercise is so not my thing, but I think I’m going to give it a go. Sorry that your gym got rid of it. Lame! Good for you for taking your business elsewhere.*

    • uglyrunnerfeet
      October 4, 2012

      I’m generally apprehensive about group classes – mainly because I’m SO uncoordinated and I hate feeling like I’m on show. But I found that there were so many different levels of people in the class, it didn’t matter!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2012 by in cancer, randomness, running.
