Toenails are so overrated

Running, rambling, and randomness

September is National Honey Month

I’ve been using local honey as a sweetener ever since I read that it might help with allergies. There’s no conclusive study, but I figure it can’t hurt since I have seasonal allergies galore! Plus, it’s tasty! So how excited was I to find out that September is National Honey Month? Yeah, I’m a little late in the game month but I did a little poking around the interwebz for a new honey recipe to try and came across this one for Chocolate Peanut Butter Scrumpets. Mind you, I don’t even know what the hell a scrumpet (gee thanks for that helpful definition Urban Dictionary!) is, but I had the ingredients on hand.

20120923-183117.jpg

The recipe came together quickly though it was a bit messy between the honey and the peanut butter. I still can’t tell you what a scrumpet is, other than delicious. It kind of looks like cross between a lumpy, crumbly cookie and a scone. The taste, however, is amazing. You really don’t get a lot of honey flavor, it’s all about the peanut butter, but is that really a bad thing? I didn’t think so. Though I later realized that I neglected to make the glaze (oops!) so I’m betting that would have brought more honey flavor to the party. Oh well, next time!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2012 by in food and tagged , , , .
