Toenails are so overrated

Running, rambling, and randomness

You can’t catch up on sleep?

A recent study shows that you can’t catch up on sleep. The thought makes me sad. And I don’t buy it.

The weekend after my last trip, I was beyond exhausted. I slept. And slept, and slept, and slept. And come Monday, I felt like a new woman. Other sources show that during sleep “…the body repairs and regenerates tissues, builds bone and muscle, and appears to strengthen the immune system…” So isn’t it safe to assume that a sleep-deprived body is in desperate need of repair and that “catching up” is beneficial?

All these studies drive me nuts. “Wine is good for your heart.” “Wine will kill you.” Make up your damn mind! I realize that new information is discovered, but it seems to me that for every study that’s released we’re seeing a refuting study shortly after. Kinda makes you wonder about the intention (and funding) behind some of these studies.

As for me? I’m going to keep catching on sleep when I need to.

2 comments on “You can’t catch up on sleep?

  1. LizForADay
    September 27, 2012

    I am in total agreement with you. Darn if you do and Darn if you don’t. I say do what makes you feel good. It does not matter. There is bound to be a special negative report released on it in the near future. I say sleep away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2012 by in randomness and tagged .
