Toenails are so overrated

Running, rambling, and randomness

Thankful Thursday

Some days it’s hard to remember the good things in life. The bad things can overshadow them and bring you down.

Today I’m thankful for:

My family and friends. First and always. This includes my two crazy kittehs!

Being able to run and go to yoga again.

20120914-205536.jpg

The magical silicone tape that’s helping my scar heal. I’m still incredibly self conscious about the whole thing. The tape isn’t all that noticeable since it blends really well with my skin tone, but the scar underneath is still fairly red and obvious. At least, to me. In the end, I’m thankful to be healthy and on the healing part of this journey!

The fact that the Florida humidity is every so slowly subsiding. Fall and winter are the perfect time to run down here!

Last – but certainly not least – sour gummy worms! Because it’s the little things!

2 comments on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Urban Running Girl
    September 24, 2012

    Hi there,
    I just read some of your posts. I just wanted to share something to you about myself. In December 2010, I had a partial parotid gland removed through surgery, so I know how it feels to be self conscious of any scarring related matters around the neck/face area. I tried a few different solutions (not the silicone tape), but a few others, and I had a lot of luck with a skin ointment called Mederma. It really helped to smooth out the scar. I had some bad luck as I was allergic to the sutures so I had to have it redone last July (the incision). I picked up the Mederma on a lark, last February, and saw significant changes. The scar became much softer and smoother. I would highly recommend it. It also has a SPF of 15 for those mild sunny days. (although in the summer, I was applying a 45 to the scar while running). Good luck with your recovery. All the best to you.

  2. uglyrunnerfeet
    September 24, 2012

    Thanks so much for sharing your story! It’s always good to know I’m not alone. I’m so sorry to hear that you had to have it re-done! The plastic surgeon who did the closure for me actually used glue instead of sutures and while I wasn’t happy about it at first (it meant no bandage and lots of ugliness until the glue finally came off) it seems to be healing pretty well.

    My plastic surgeon was the one who has me using silicone tape instead of Mederma (at least for now). He says it’s excellent for red or raised scars (mine is both) and I’ll probably be wearing the tape for about 6 months and then changing to Mederma.

    In the beginning of the process, the changes were dramatic as it healed. I’ve hit the point now where they’re slower (and that’s totally to be expected) but for someone like me who is impatient, it’s a challenge!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2012 by in thankful Thursday and tagged .
