Toenails are so overrated

Running, rambling, and randomness

This crazy little thing called running

So what does one do the day they’re cleared for “all normal activity” following surgery? If you’re me, you go to a yoga class that night. Boy, was my back happy to be back in Hatha!

What does one do the week they’re cleared for “all normal activity” following surgery? If you’re me, you walk a half marathon.

Yeah, I know.

But here’s the story: back in February two friends and I ran Disney’s Princess Half Marathon. And promptly signed up for the Disneyland Half Marathon so we could earn our coast-to-coast medals. The race was paid for, the trip was booked, I wanted that medal. I hadn’t run in nine weeks. Nine! My friends were lazy knew I wasn’t able to train, so their training was pretty much non-existent. So we walked. And jogged little bits here and there.

I don’t know about physically, but mentally it was the best thing for me to complete that race. Because I could. I’d beaten cancer and I knew if I could do that, I could do anything.

Me and McKayla are not impressed by cancer. Best race sign ever, no?

The race trashed my feet, so I’m taking two weeks off to let them heal. It’s also time for new shoes, so that’s on the agenda this weekend. Come Monday, training starts for the WDW Half Marathon (aka “the Donald”) in January. I’d hoped the run the 20th Anniversary Mickey that weekend as my first full marathon, but I don’t have enough of a training base and I’m playing it cautious.

Come January, this will be mine. My…preciousssssss.

And there’s also talk of this in April…

No medal, just a Tiffany necklace. You know, NBD!

Hi, my name is Lori and I have a running problem. Ha!

7 comments on “This crazy little thing called running

  1. Pingback: Mama’s got a brand new pair of shoes « Toenails are so overrated

  2. Runner Girl Eats
    September 27, 2012

    I have always wanted to do a Disney race. I need to pic one for 2013! Congrats on your ‘coast to coast’ medal.

  3. uglyrunnerfeet
    September 28, 2012

    Thanks! Disney races are a ton of fun – most runners wear costumes (or, at least, Sparkle Skirts!) and the entertainment on the course is fantastic!

  4. Army Amy
    September 29, 2012

    Way to go! Walking a half is not small potatoes! (I walked one with my mom in December; I found it tougher psychologically than running a half.) And beating cancer. Wow. My heart goes out to you. Again, no small potatoes! Thanks for the dose of inspiration that I was needing today!*

    • uglyrunnerfeet
      September 29, 2012

      Aw, thanks Amy! I’m a firm believer that we can do anything we set out minds to!

  5. Kiran
    September 29, 2012

    This is really just so great – a very inspiring site! best wishes, K

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2012 by in cancer, running and tagged , , , .
