Toenails are so overrated

Running, rambling, and randomness

The year that was 2012 {Part 2}

When we last left our heroine, she was scheduled to have surgery to remove a microcystic adnexal carcinoma tumor.

Surgery was scheduled for a Friday. Monday morning was spent in pre-op testing. Thursday night, I had a fabulous sushi dinner {SushiPop} with my mother and the boy. Suddenly it was time to fast and go to bed – we had to be at the hospital, which is a 30 minute ride, at 5am.

The morning is a bit of a blur. I was in good spirits. Showered, dressed in my obnoxiously patterned “cancer pants”, and drove us to the hospital. Turns out, we really didn’t need to be there until 6am. Thanks for that scheduling department. So we  waited and watched the morning news in the lounge. The lead story? Sexual harassment of patients by staff of a local hospital. Fortunately not the one we were at.

Finally it was time for me to go back and get changed and IV’d. Once I was settled, they let my entourage visit. The time went quickly and I was soon hooked up to an IV and loopy as hell. I vaguely remember being wheeled back to the OR and babbling something about Hawaii when I was told to think about my favorite place as they put the mask over my face.

Fade to black.

The whole surgery from start until the time my family could see me in recovery took less than three hours. I was well drugged. Well enough that I didn’t realize I had a drain coming out of my neck. Well enough that I didn’t realize that my face wasn’t bandaged (I’d find out later that it was glued). Well enough that I didn’t realize that things were worse that anticipated and they’d had to remove a larger area of my cheek than planned. Well enough to not realize that the reconstruction of my cheek involved relocating skin from my neck and that I was in for a longer, rougher recovery than we’d expected.

My first clue should have been the fact that I was being admitted to the hospital overnight. I’d been told that if all had gone as planned, I’d be going home the same day. But I wasn’t. As we spent the day in recovery waiting for a bed to open it, I didn’t put two and two together.

When I made my first (and second) visit to the restroom and saw my face in the mirror, I still didn’t put two and two together. Yep, those were some good drugs.

A room – a private one, no less – opened up and I was finally admitted. There was a Murphy Bed for the boy to stay and for that I was grateful. I didn’t want to be alone.

I ate real food that night and enjoyed the benefits of IV pain meds and fluids. My main complaint? The annoyance of the IV nn my right hand. I was thrilled late that night when it was capped and early the next morning when it was removed.

Mid-day Saturday I was released and sent home, still sporting a drain from my neck. I had a followup appointment Tuesday where the drain would hopefully be removed. Once the IV had come out, the drain became my new complaint.

{To be continued…}

You can view a lot of images from my recovery {some fairly graphic, consider yourself warned} along with some ranting and rambling about the suckiness of it all over at The Patient is Not.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2012 by in cancer and tagged .
